Skip to main content
You can watch recordings of the Fall 2018 lecture videos online.
You can review recordings for the Summer 2019 lectures too.

The lecture schedule will be updated as the term progresses.

Date Topic Required Readings Quiz
Fri, Jul 5, 2019 - Introduction / AI in Science Fiction and Philosophy
- Python Review
[slides] [video]
Fall 2018 lecture, Intro to Python Part 1
Fall 2018 lecture, Intro to Python Part 2
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 1 "Introduction"
Optional: Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 26 "Philosophical Foundations"
Quiz 1: Python
Fri, Jul 5, 2019 HW 1: Python Skills
(due by Tue, Jul 9, 2019 midnight)
Mon, Jul 8, 2019 - Intelligent Agents
- Search Problem Formulation
- Uninformed Search
[slides]
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 2 "Intelligent Agents" (2.1-2.3)
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 3 "Solving Problems by Search" (3.1-3.4)
Quiz 2: Solving Problems by Search (AIMA 2.1-2.3 and 3.1-3.4)
Wed, Jul 10, 2019 - A* Search and Heuristics
[slides]
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 3 "Solving Problems by Search" (3.5-3.6)
Quiz 3: A* Search and Heuristics (AIMA 3.5-3.6)
Fri, Jul 12, 2019 - Game Trees: Minimax
[slides]
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 5 "Adversarial Search" (5.1-5.5)
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 16 "Making Simple Decisions" (16.1-16.3)
Quiz 4: Minimax, Expectimax, and Utilities (AIMA 5.1-5.5 and 16.1-16.3)
Fri, Jul 12, 2019 HW 2: Search and Games
(due by Tue, Jul 16, 2019 midnight)
Fri, Jul 12, 2019 Last Day to Drop
Mon, Jul 15, 2019 - Game Trees: Expectimax and Utilities
- Markov Decision Processes 1
[slides]
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 17 "Making Complex Decisions" (17.1-17.3)
Sutton and Barto, Chapter 3 - Finite Markov Decision Processes
Quiz 5: Markov Decision Processes (AIMA, 17.1-17.3 and Sutton and Barto, Chapter 3)
Wed, Jul 17, 2019 - Markov Decision Processes 2
[slides]
Fri, Jul 19, 2019 - MDPs Wrap-up and Reinforcement Learning 1
[slides]
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 21 "Reinforcement Learning"
Sutton and Barto, Chapter 6 "Temporal-Difference Learning" (6.1, 6.2 and 6.5)
Quiz 6: Reinforcement Learning (AIMA Chapter 21; Sutton and Barto, 6.1, 6.2 and 6.5)
Fri, Jul 19, 2019 HW 3: Markov Decision Processes
(due by Tue, Jul 23, 2019 midnight)
Sat, Jul 20, 2019 Last Day to Change Grade Status
Mon, Jul 22, 2019 - Reinforcement Learning 2
Wed, Jul 24, 2019 - Markov Models
- Probability
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 13 "Quantifying Uncertainty" (13.1-13.5)
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 15 "Probabilistic Reasoning Over Time" (15.2-15.5)
Quiz 7: Markov Models and Probability (AIMA 13.1-13.5 and 15.2-15.5)
Fri, Jul 26, 2019 - NLP (Natural Language Processing)
Jurafsky and Martin, Chapter 6 “Vector Semantics”
Cynthia Matuszek, Evan Herbst, Luke Zettlemoyer, Dieter Fox, “Learning to Parse Natural Language Commands to a Robot Control System”
Quiz 8: NLP (Jurafsky and Martin Chapter 6; paper)
Fri, Jul 26, 2019 HW 4: Reinforcement Learning
(due by Tue, Jul 30, 2019 midnight)
Mon, Jul 29, 2019 - Bayes' Nets
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 14 "Probabilistic Reasoning" (14.1, 14.2, 14.4)
Quiz 9: Bayes' Nets (AIMA 14.1, 14.2, 14.4)
Wed, Jul 31, 2019 - Machine Learning: Perceptrons
- Machine Learning: Kernels and Clustering
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 18 "Learning from Examples" (18.6.3, 18.8)
Wikipedia, Cluster analysis
Wikipedia, k-Means Clustering
Wikipedia, Agglomerative Clustering
Quiz 10: Machine Learning (AIMA 18.6.3, 18.8; Wikipedia)
Fri, Aug 2, 2019 - Neural Networks
Michael Nielsen, Neural Networks and Deep Learning Chapter 1 "Using Neural Nets to Recognize Handwritten Digits"
Michael Nielsen, Neural Networks and Deep Learning Chapter 2 "How the Backpropagation Algorithm Works"
New York Times (July 13, 1958), Electronic 'Brain' Teaches Itself
Quiz 11: Neural Networks (Michael Nielsen Chapter 1 and 2)
Fri, Aug 2, 2019 HW 5: Perceptrons and Neural Network
(due by Tue, Aug 6, 2019 midnight)
Fri, Aug 2, 2019 Last Day to Withdraw
Mon, Aug 5, 2019 - SLAM (Simultaneous Localization and Mapping)
Russell and Norvig, AIMA Chapter 25 “Robotics” (25.3)
Quiz 12: SLAM (AIMA 25.3)
Wed, Aug 7, 2019 - TBD Computer Vision
- TBD Self-Driving Cars
Fri, Aug 9, 2019 Final Exam