Skip to main content
You can watch recordings of the live lectures, or you can watch pre-recorded lectures for each module.

The schedule below shows the schedule section 401, which meets on Tuesday/Thursday. Click here for the 402 Monday/Wednesday section.

Date Topic
Tue, Aug 31, 2021

First day of classes

Tue, Aug 31, 2021Start of Module 1 - Course Introduction & Rational Agents
Tue, Aug 31, 2021Introduction / AI in Science Fiction and Philosophy [recording] [slides]
Thu, Sep 2, 2021

Class canceled because of flooding. Please watch these lecture recordings on your own - Intelligent Agents and Task Environments

(No lecture)
Fri, Sep 3, 2021CCB’s Office Hours [recording]
Mon, Sep 6, 2021

Labor Day

(No lecture)
Mon, Sep 6, 2021Start of Module 2 - Intro to Python
Tue, Sep 7, 2021Intro to Python part 1 [recording] [slides]
Wed, Sep 8, 2021 Quiz 1 "Course Policies and Turing Test" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA 4th Edition, Chapter 1 "Introduction", Section 1.1 "What is AI"
  • AIMA 4th Edition, Chapter 27 "Philosophical Foundations", Sections 27.1 "The Limits of AI" and 27.2 "Can Machines Really Think?"
  • AIMA 4th Edition, Chapter 2 "Intelligent Agents" (whole chapter)
Thu, Sep 9, 2021Intro to Python part 2 [recording] [slides]
Fri, Sep 10, 2021CCB’s Office Hours [recording]
Fri, Sep 10, 2021Recitation on Python [recording]
Sat, Sep 11, 2021 Quiz 2 "Python" is due.
Mon, Sep 13, 2021Start of Module 3 - Search Problems
Tue, Sep 14, 2021CIS 521 Homework 1 “Python Skills” is due
Tue, Sep 14, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Sep 16, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Sep 16, 2021Recitation on Uninformed Search [recording]
Sat, Sep 18, 2021 Flashcards for Search Problems is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA 4th Edition, AIMA Chapter 3 "Problem Solving by Search" (3.1-3.4)
Mon, Sep 20, 2021Start of Module 4 - Informed Search
Tue, Sep 21, 2021CIS 521 Homework 2 “Uninformed Search” is due
Tue, Sep 21, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Sep 23, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Sep 25, 2021 Quiz 4 "Informed Search Problems" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Chapter 3 "Problem Solving by Search" (3.5-3.6)
Mon, Sep 27, 2021Start of Module 5 - Games and Adversarial Search
Tue, Sep 28, 2021CIS 521 Homework 3 “Informed Search” is due
Tue, Sep 28, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Sep 30, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Oct 2, 2021 Quiz 5 "Games and Adversarial Search" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA chapter 5 "Adversairal Search" (5.2-5.5).
  • AIMA Chapter 16 "Making Simple Decisions" (16.1-16.3)
Mon, Oct 4, 2021Start of Module 6 - Constraint Satisfaction Problems
Tue, Oct 5, 2021CIS 521 Homework 4 “Games and Adversarial Search” is due
Tue, Oct 5, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Oct 7, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Oct 9, 2021 Quiz 6 "Constraint Satisfaction Problems" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA, Chapter 6 "Constraint Satisfaction Problems" (6.1-6.5)
Mon, Oct 11, 2021

Drop Period Ends

Mon, Oct 11, 2021Start of Module 7 - Logical Agents
Tue, Oct 12, 2021CIS 521 Homework 5 “Sudoku Solver” is due
Tue, Oct 12, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Oct 14, 2021

Fall Term Break

(No lecture)
Fri, Oct 15, 2021

Fall Term Break

(No lecture)
Mon, Oct 18, 2021 Quiz 7 "Logical Agents" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Chapter 7 "Logical Agents"
Mon, Oct 18, 2021Start of Module 8 - Markov Decision Process
Tue, Oct 19, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Oct 21, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Oct 23, 2021 Quiz 8 "MDPs" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Chapter 16 "Making Simple Decisions" (16.1-16.3)
  • AIMA Chapter 17 "Making Complex Decision" (17.1-17.3)
Mon, Oct 25, 2021Start of Module 9 - Reinforcement Learning
Tue, Oct 26, 2021 Midterm 1 is due
Tue, Oct 26, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Oct 28, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Fri, Oct 29, 2021

Grade Type Change Deadline

Sat, Oct 30, 2021 Quiz 9 "Reinforcement Learning" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Section 17.3 "Bandit Problems"
  • AIMA Chapter 22 "Reinforcement Learning" (Sections 22.1-22.5)
Mon, Nov 1, 2021Start of Module 10 - Probabilities and Language Models
Tue, Nov 2, 2021CIS 521 Homework 6 “Markov Decision Processes” is due
Tue, Nov 2, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Nov 4, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Nov 6, 2021 Quiz 10 "Probabilities and Language Models" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Chapter 12 "Quantifying Uncertainty" (Sections 12.1-12.7)
  • Speech and Language Processing Chapter 3 "N-Gram Language Models"
Mon, Nov 8, 2021

Last day to withdraw from a course

Mon, Nov 8, 2021Start of Module 11 - Probabilistic Reasoning and Bayes' Nets
Tue, Nov 9, 2021CIS 521 Homework 7 “Reinforcement Learning” is due
Tue, Nov 9, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Nov 11, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Nov 13, 2021 Quiz 11 "Bayes' Nets" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Chapter 14 "Probabilistic Reasoning" (14.1, 14.2, 14.4)
Mon, Nov 15, 2021Start of Module 12 - Naive Bayes and Perceptrons
Tue, Nov 16, 2021CIS 521 Homework 8 “Language Models” is due
Tue, Nov 16, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Nov 18, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Nov 20, 2021 Quiz 12 "Naive Bayes and Perceptrons" is due. The quiz covers:
  • AIMA Chapter 19 "Learning from Examples" (Sections 19.1-19.6)
  • Speech and Language Processing Chapter 5 "Logistic Regression"
Mon, Nov 22, 2021Start of Module 13 - Neural Networks
Tue, Nov 23, 2021CIS 521 Homework 8 “Perceptrons” is due
Tue, Nov 23, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Nov 25, 2021

Thanksgiving Break

(No lecture)
Fri, Nov 26, 2021

Thanksgiving Break

(No lecture)
Tue, Nov 30, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Dec 2, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Sat, Dec 4, 2021 Quiz 13 "Nerual Nets" is due. The quiz covers:
  • Speech and Language Processing Chapter 5 "Logistic Regression"
  • Chapter 7 "Neural Networks and Neural Language Models"
Mon, Dec 6, 2021Start of Module 14 - Natural Language Processing
Tue, Dec 7, 2021CIS 521 Homework 10 “Neural Networks” is due
Tue, Dec 7, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Thu, Dec 9, 2021 Lecture [slides]
Fri, Dec 10, 2021

Last day of classes

Fri, Dec 10, 2021 Quiz 14 "NLP" is due. The quiz covers:
  • Chapter 7 "Neural Networks and Neural Language Models"
  • Chapter 9 "Sequence Processing with Recurrent Networks"
  • Chapter 6 "Vector Semantics and Embeddings"
Fri, Dec 10, 2021 Midterm 2 is due